Better known as Mayette Q. Tabada to her students and colleagues, she writes an editorial-page column, “Matamata,” which is published by SunStar Cebu every Sunday, as well as the editorial on social issues published every Monday by the same paper. She has received industry awards for journalistic excellence for her write-ups, including special reports written with the SunStar Cebu team. Prior to journalism and teaching, she worked in development communication.

Assistant Professor 3

Contact Information

Courses Handled

Research Interest


Journalism, Development Communication, Communication, Thesis

Journalism, media self-regulation, Philippine studies

Master of Arts in Journalism (UP Diliman, 2015)


Bachelor in Communication Arts (UP Cebu, 1987, cum laude)


Preschool to High School (St. Theresa’s College, 1972-1982, fourth year first honors, seventh in excellence)


Title of Thesis and/or Dissertations

“Media Self-regulation through Media Literacy: Insights from the Cebu Citizens-Press Council (CCPC)” (Unpublished masteral thesis, July 2015)


Published/Creative Works

“Matamata,” Sunday editorial-page column, ”SunStar Cebu”


Monday editorial on social issues, ”SunStar Cebu”


Media criticism and features, ”Cebu Journalism and Journalists” (published annually during Cebu Press Freedom Week)



Editor of UP Cebu professor emeritus Felisa U. Etemadi’s ”People Participation in Urban Governance in Cebu: A Reader” (Ramon Aboitiz Foundation Inc. (RAFI), 2012)


Co-writer of Alegria and Badian town histories with Roy S. Tabada, part of the Cebu Provincial History project (Cebu Provincial Government and the University of San Carlos, 2010)


Writer, ”The Cebu We Know,” an anthology edited by Erma C. Cuizon (Anvil Publishing Inc., 2009)



Awards and Recognitions

Cebu Citizens-Press Council (CCPC)


Cebu Association of Communication Educators (CACE)


As of January 2017, she received 22 awards and distinctions for journalistic excellence in special reports co-written with "SunStar Cebu" journalists, editorials, columns, and features, from the Annual PopDev Media Awards, Cebu Archdiocesan Mass Media Awards (CAMMA), Globe Media Excellence Awards (GMEA), Jaime V. Ongpin Awards for Excellence in Journalism (JVOAEJ), Civic Journalism Community Press Awards, and the Save the Children Media Awards